How Audacity helped me to get my audiobook published on Audible

Audible are very picky when it comes to audio quality, but a free tool helped me to succeed in getting published

Kieran Ball
5 min readSep 26, 2019

Earlier this year, I exhibited at the London Book Fair. I spoke to quite a few publishers about audiobooks and they were surprised that, as a self-published author, I managed to get my audiobooks published on Audible. Here’s how I did it.

Photo by Burst from Pexels

When I submitted my first audiobook to Audible, it was rejected due to poor quality audio. So, I rerecorded the whole book and resubmitted it. It was rejected again. I did this two more times, only for it to be rejected twice more.

I had a decent microphone, a Blue Yeti, and a very quiet room, but I just couldn’t manage to get the quality to a high enough standard for it to be accepted by Audible. That’s when I stumbled across the free software Audacity.

What is Audacity?

Audacity is the most amazing audio editing software ever, and it’s free! You can download it here: https://www.audacityteam.org/

--

--

Kieran Ball

Teacher and creator of 3 Minute Languages — a series of books and online courses that help you to learn a foreign language quickly and easily www.3minute.club